71' F36 Tri-Cabin waste tank?

This forum is for comments and the exchange of information relating to Trojan Boats and boating. Please do not post used parts or boats For Sale in this area. For general, non-boating topics please use our "General Discussions" section.

Note: Negative or inflammatory postings will not be tolerated.

Moderators: BeaconMarineBob, Moderator, BeaconMarineDon

JxDiGiovanni

71' F36 Tri-Cabin waste tank?

Post by JxDiGiovanni »

Hey all, just bought my first boat that I live aboard. It's a 1971 Trojan Tri-Cabin F36 with 2-Chrysler 383's that are currently not running.

First thing on my list is replacing ALL of the plumbing, my problem is that I am new to yacths. I don't know what I'm looking at and can't seem to find the waste tank or the drain port. When I pull up the cabin floor, there are two big cylindrical tanks; one on the starboard side and the other on the portside.. I am assuming these are the fuel tanks... well these are also the only tanks I can seem to find. I'm assuming these boats weren't manufactured as outboard waste boats, Correct?...

I am a commercial/Industrial electrician by trade but I know a decent amount about plumbing. No professional but I take pride in my work and will be doing this restoration on my own. Right after the plumbing is solved I will be tackling the electrical ASAP.

Any help is appreciated, hope to learn a lot about these awesome boats here.

-Jordan D.
prowlersfish
2024 Gold Support
2024 Gold Support

Re: 71' F36 Tri-Cabin waste tank?

Post by prowlersfish »

They could but fuel tanks . Not sure what year Trojan started put the holding tanks on boats , they built a lot of them with self contain heads . You can trace the lines from the head"(s) to see where they end up.

Remember your boat is over 45 years old so a lot of things my have been changed . My 77 (not a tri cabin ) had a self contained head and no tank . I replace the head and installed a tank .
Boating is good for the soul