New to the Trojan World

This forum is for comments and the exchange of information relating to Trojan Boats and boating. Please do not post used parts or boats For Sale in this area. For general, non-boating topics please use our "General Discussions" section.

Note: Negative or inflammatory postings will not be tolerated.

Moderators: BeaconMarineBob, Moderator, BeaconMarineDon

jasonsmitten

New to the Trojan World

Post by jasonsmitten »

Hey folks,

I am new to the Trojan world of boating and new to the do it yourself maintenance side as well. However, I am a long time boater and sailor.

My wife and I are proud owners of our new 1976 Trojan f36 with twin Chrysler 383 ci 280 HP 'big block' RWC. It has been kept in great condition over the years and mostly everything is still original. We boat out of Lower Lake Simcoe Ontario and I am still acclimating myself to the care and maintenance of the boat and engines.

I have already opened up and winterized once myself unsupervised. Under the specific and detailed instructions given by the previous owner. (many thanks btw).

This year I have run into, what most likely is, a common problem. Both engines turned over however both started to over heat. I check to see if there was flow through the water filter and there was. I could not see if water was coming out the exhaust as both exhausts are slightly below the water line. I did not see to much steam however I do not have enough visual experience to use the steam as an indicator. I took an IR reading off the engines around the block and in one area it read 220F so I quickly shut her down. I am aware that 150 to 165F is the upper operating temps.

Question 1. Is there a suggested area on the engine to take an IR reading?
Question 2. Having never changed an impeller ever what are some good tips?
Question 3. Where can I obtain a service manual for my engines.

Thanks so much in advance and fyi I am very new to the idea of a forum so I hope I don't mess this up. Ha!