1957 Trojan Sea Queen 14'

This forum is for comments and the exchange of information relating to Trojan Runabouts.

Note: Negative or inflammatory postings will not be tolerated.

Moderators: BeaconMarineBob, Moderator, BeaconMarineDon

JBlencowe686

1957 Trojan Sea Queen 14'

Post by JBlencowe686 »

I just found this website the other day, what a great place to get information!, I am new to antique boat ownership. Well my grandparents bought my 1957 SeaQueen 14' from Elmira Ny, or so I believe thats where they bought it, used I'm told. I found a tag that has the old boat dealship so I'm assuming that's where it came from, they were probably the second owners of my boat. While they were alive I showed interest in taking possession of the boat, which my grandmother agreed and handed me the registration, that was about 6 years ago, since then they both have passed. The boat has always been kept in a barn, I am assuming the last time it was used was around 1985 since that was the last time the trailer was registered. I believe this is a 1957 sea queen just by looking at pictures of other boats similar, although I have not found a single other 1957 14 foot boat exactly like mine. The boat currently has a evinrude 25hp motor, which not sure if was the original motor or not. I will post some pics of the motor and boat, if anyone has knowledge concerning my boat I would appreciate any help. I am just starting to refinish, starting with the bottom first as there is some rot near the transom, not sure how im going to repair that but I guess trial and error. Had thought of fiberglassing the bottom but it seems wood boat owners get very upset with this process...so I think I will leave it all wood and hopefully seal it right. Also if anyone has an idea of the value of a refinished boat like this? I found a similar one in PA, it was a 59 I think, guy wanted around 12k or something like that. I don't plan to sell mine but would like to know what she will be worth. Thanks, Jason