Shaft leak.

This forum is for comments and the exchange of information relating to Trojan Boats and boating. Please do not post used parts or boats For Sale in this area. For general, non-boating topics please use our "General Discussions" section.

Note: Negative or inflammatory postings will not be tolerated.

Moderators: BeaconMarineBob, Moderator, BeaconMarineDon

mds9972

Shaft leak.

Post by mds9972 »

Hi all! I'm probably posting this prematurely, since I have not seen the boat yet, but here goes....I'm being given a 1975 31' Trojan cabin cruiser with fly bridge, and twin Chrysler 318's Mind you, I'm BRAND NEW to boating, and have never operated one of any size ever! The boat I'm told has strong running engines, but one of them may need a module because it makes a popping sound while running, but the other runs fine? Also was told it has a "shaft leak" at an estimated $1,000 to repair. The owner said the bilge pump keeps up with the leak. My online research is showing the most likely culprit to be stuffing boxes needs repacking or adjustment? Any other thoughts on this issue? Also needs repair to soft wood on decks and around some Windows. This boat is free and lift kept. the guy is allowing me to keep it on his lift until July to give me time to make repairs. I can't ask for much more than that, but do not want to get in over my head! Especially since I have no idea about the water ways, or the boats that use them.
Thanks for any advice,
Mark

The Dog House
Active User

Re: Shaft leak.

Post by The Dog House »

Repacking the stuffing boxes will cost less than $100 if you do it yourself. There is a good article at www.pbase.com/mainecruising/stuffing_box that shows you how to do it. I highly recommend using the Gore GFO packing material instead of the traditional flax.
1993 Sea Ray 200 Overnighter OB with 1993 Mercury 150 hp Outboard
1979 Starcraft 14' Rowboat with 2011 Mercury 9.9 hp Outboard
Former boat: 1971 Trojan F26
Stripermann2
Ultimate User